Buying a new performance laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.

The_RAJ

Honorable
Jun 24, 2012
I'll follow the guidlines first.

1. What is your budget?
Between 600-1700 USD, 500-1300 Euros, or 400-1100 pounds. I would like to be a cheapskate, I am a poor college student surviving on loans from friends and family, but I'm willing to pay into that upper end for something REALLY incredible that will last.

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?
15-18, I can live with 14 if it's a REALLY great bargain.

3. What screen resolution do you want?
If it's wide screen then it must be above 720P, I hate reading documents and writing papers in 720P.

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?
I have a AMD Phenom II 560 core unlocked and overclocked to a 3.7 GHz Quad core (4.1 when over volted), GTX560OC video card, Intel Speed Demon Sata 3 SSD (+500GB HDD with libraries and cache relocated)

5. How much battery life do you need?
At least 4 hours of document writing/ programming. 8 would be great. Using a second battery to obtain that would be okay.

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?
Yes, but I already have a desktop for gaming in 3D. I would like to play games like Tera on medium - high, and I want to be able to multi- account on flash games. I will not play FPS games on a laptop.

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.)
Autocad. Compiling/programming/coding. I may wind up editing some videos on the laptop if I visit a friend am am away from my desktop.

8. How much storage (Hard Drive capacity) do you need?
150GB would be enough really, and maybe a 32Gb + SSD for speed if there's room.

9. If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.

10. How long do you want to keep your laptop?