Should I buy this? Lenovo Y480

Status
Not open for further replies.

joeman99

Distinguished
Sep 8, 2011
Hey guys, I've been doing lots of research in the past 2 months for a laptop for college, and I am deciding on buying the Lenovo Y480. Here's a list of advantages/disadvantages I've found out:

Advantages:
3rd gen i7 3610QM
8 GB of fast 1600 MHz RAM
Backlit keyboard and the trackpad seem to have good reviews - I'd buy the HP dv6t-7000 if the arrow keys weren't squished
Online deals have it at $800 - I don't want to go over $900

Meh:
1366x768 screen
4-5 hour battery
a bit heavy at 4.9 pounds - I would have gotten the Y580 but the weight was too much of a disadvantage

Disadvantage:
GT640M LE graphics card (reportedly, the bad driver makes it suck even more)

I'm not much of a gamer, and if I do play games it's usually online flash games. However, I am a designer and do work with Adobe After Effects and Photoshop, and will be connecting this laptop to higher resolution monitors to work. Do you guys think I'm going to regret the graphics card? Or is that fine for what I'm doing? I think the CPU matters the most with video/image/sound editing.

College is still a few months away. If there's no need to buy a laptop now, then the best thing to do is wait for more laptops to be released during the summer.

The 14" GIGABYTE U2442 ultrabook might be something to consider depending on the price. Supposedly there's going to be a GT 640m and GT 650m version, but I think getting the GT 650m version will definitely be over $1,000. It will have a 1600x900 resolution screen. No release date yet though.

http://www.gigabyte.com/press-center/news-page.aspx?nid=1127