What Your RAM Goes Through: the Die-hard Tester

Status
Not open for further replies.

radium69

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2007
Nice to know that GEIL is a quality brand. Ram from GEIL is pretty famous here in holland. They are recommended, and are also not so expensive. I've been using 3 sets of GEIL 4gb (2x2) for 2 years, and not a single one failed. While my kingston did.

G

Geil means 'horny' in dutch, and something like 'super' or 'cool' or 'top' in German.
It's probably a german product, for the name really sucks!

Tindytim

Distinguished
Sep 16, 2008
[citation][nom]ProDigit80[/nom]Geil means 'horny' in dutch, and something like 'super' or 'cool' or 'top' in German.It's probably a german product, for the name really sucks![/citation]
Or maybe they're just technosexuals?

sorry but my shop front sells there basic stuff and like corsair and other "basic" models, there ram failed at a rate of maybe ~15% in 6 months compared to kingston at less then ~5%

ill stick to kingston thankyou

lucuis

Distinguished
Apr 21, 2008
[citation][nom]apache_lives[/nom]sorry but my shop front sells there basic stuff and like corsair and other "basic" models, there ram failed at a rate of maybe ~15% in 6 months compared to kingston at less then ~5%ill stick to kingston thank you[/citation]

Seems odd to see a failure rate that high. I'm thinking it's either a very bad case of you got all the bad ones, or it's user error. I speak of course of the dreaded static monster.

zendax

Distinguished
Apr 15, 2009
While I currently have Corsair memory in my system, Geil is my favorite brand because they always offer quality RAM at reasonable prices. This isn't always true at the highest end (as you can clearly see from THG's recent test of high end DDR3 kits), but unlike other memory manufacturers, it seems with Geil you buy the cheapest part and still get the same great quality.