Upgrading to 8 from OEM 7

ninjarubberduck

Honorable
Apr 4, 2012
Will upgrading my Windows 7 OEM license to Windows 8 grant me a retail license? I want to upgrade my motherboard, but currently can't because OEM licenses are tied to the first motherboard it is installed on and I don't have enough money to buy another Windows license.

rushfan

Distinguished
Mar 2, 2006

You have to buy a retail copy of Windows 8. There's no way around it.

My advice to you: avoid Windows 8 altogether. It's a tablet OS forced onto a desktop computer. I have been an IT professional for almost 20 years and I find it difficult to use. I can't even imagine how the average user will cope with it.

womble

Distinguished
Mar 10, 2006
Yep, it would be nice if they had an upgrade option for oem to retail. Luckily (or not) I'm still running XP so I'll probably bite. If you can score a dirt cheap retail xp you might be good to go but these aren't so common now (and it would have to be dirt cheap to make a saving!)

Once it is on full release the price of Windows 7 will probably go through the roof...

ironically, I find win8 to be wonderful to use (I am not an IT pro, just a refurbisher and hardware junkie). What's more, my wife (who is an 'average' PC user) absolutely loves win8 even more than I do.

I am not trying to discount the win8 nay-sayers because it is obviously not for everyone. But I still think you should give it a go while it is free.

Also, while OEM software is tied to the mobo, you can replace the mobo in the event of hardware failure to fix your machine. Too many hardware changes and MS will throw a fit, but generally speaking they have been pretty lenient on enforcing their rules... there is just no 'guarantee' that you can transfer your license to a new board.