dorkus_malorkus

Distinguished
Jan 2, 2002
I am having a problem getting my new build to boot. I have built 4 or 5 computers in the past but having trouble with this one. It will actually boot with my old TI 4200 card. Specs:

Athlon 64 3200+
1 gig OCZ PC3200
ASRock K8S8X
DVDRW
WD SE 80gb IDE drive
floppy
Raidmax 420W power supply
Thermaltake heatsink

I have tried unhooking everything besides the gfx card and cpu and that did not work. I initially thought I had a bad motherboard based on some strange beep codes I was getting. I am not sure if it's a bad card as I have never been able to use it or if it might be a bios thing (I'm new to ATI cards). I have not had a chance to go into the bios and look around. Anyone have experience with this board/bios and/or this card? I originally got this video card for my old computer but could not use it with the board as it was incompatible with the AGP 3.0 spec (abit kx7333) and I rma'ed it to replace it with out success. I have now built a new comp and still don't know if it's a "good" card or not.

scottchen

Splendid
Jun 3, 2003
ASSRock i just don't like the sound of that. Get rid of that mobo, because it honestly SUCKS!! Stay away from those SiS sh*ts, get a decent Asus/MSI/Gigabyte/Chaintech NForce3 250 of VIA K8T800 mobo.

Okay enough of that, try 1 stick of ram first, in all different dim slots, then check CPU installation, make sure you didn't bend any pins. And don't forget the auxillary 12V power if the mobo requires it. If you've checked everything, and still doesn't work, then RMA time.

<A HREF="http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/myrig.php?do=view&id=17301" target="_new">My PC</A>

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
LOL, first of all, let me just do you a favor and tell you you're wrong.