Honorable
Jul 15, 2012
Hello,
I recently bought a new laptop with quite good specs
(ACER ASPIRE 5750G
intel core i5 2430m 2.4GHz up to 3GHz
NVIDIA GeForce GT 520M 1GB
4GB DDR3 RAM)
and I should be able to play games like Skyrim or GTA IV on high. But its definately not like that. GTA IV I can't even run on the lowest graphics with more than 10FPS and Skyrim is also unplayable lagging on lowest settings. For another example even Modern Warfare 2 is not smooth on lowest settings too and Fallout New Vegas I can play smooth only on lowest settings while I should be able to run ith with 45FPS on Highest settings. Any advice/help? Thanks a lot!

LoneWolfSS454

Distinguished
Jul 27, 2012
TBJ, Since you haven't got any answers so far, here are my thoughts (until a better qualified person jumps in). I'm no expert on laptops or NVIDIA stuff, but I have a 7750G-9810 Acer laptop with the HD7670M Ati switchable graphics arrangement (with the Intel HD graphics that's included on the Intel i-processor) and an I-7 Intel processor. My first suggestion is to see if your machine has "Switchable Graphics", as most of these types do. If it does, look for a way to "add your games to the GT 520M", or to put the games in "High Performance" graphics mode (the other modes will use the Intel HD graphics & cause real poor performance). I haven't used NVIDIA products in a long time, but there should be a way in the Video Options or NVIDIA software to do this. I discovered that my 7670M graphics is not DirectX-9 compatible, and will Only run DirectX-11 games (after digging real deep at the AMD site). I hope your NVIDIA graphics are not this same way, because you won't be able to use anything but the Intel graphics. I don't know your game requirements, so I can't say if this could be an issue. You might also look up reviews on the GT 520M, I can't remember the exact models but some of the lower-end NVIDIA graphics do not game very well. Best Luck to you. BTW, you might want to add the full model