Sign in with
Your question

New Setup for Athlon 64

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 30, 2004 5:46:41 PM

Hi, I have been using "Tom's" for advice & guidance for a couple of years now, but this is the first time that I have used the forums & posted a question. I have posted this in the Mobo's Forum also. I intend building a new setup based on a AMD Athlone 64 (2800+ or 3200+ any higher & the price jumps dramaticaly), depending which I can afford, I am considering the Gigabyte K8N, K8NS, K8NSNXP Mobo's & using a Gigabyte FX 5600 or FX 5700 graphics card as the main components. I have been using Gigabyte Mobo's for some while & have been very pleased with them. I would welcome any thoughts on the advantages & suitability of pairing a Gigabyte Mobo with a Gigabyte Graphics Card & recomendations for the best combination; I would also like any recomendations for other combinations & manufacturers. I am budgeting for up to about £80/£100 for each board/card. Like most people I want the best value & performance without spending a fortune. I am a keen game player but do not need cutting edge performance, just the ability to play the latest games reasonably, with stability & a couple of years future proofing. My setup now is a Athlone XP 2000, a GA 7VRXP Mobo & a PNY Verto NVidia GF3 Ti500, which is stable & works well, now I want to go up another level. I suppose that I would really like recomendations for a good combination of Mobo & Graphics Card totalling about £200GB, $360US, thanks in advance, regards.

More about : setup athlon

September 30, 2004 6:49:53 PM

You should consider getting a Socket939 A64, this Socket will last longer than Socket754.

For the MB, I usually recommend the MSI K8N neo or neo2 platinum for people who needs all the goodies (SATA, firewire, etc...). If you are on a budget the Chaintech VNF3-250 is a very good nForce3 250 based motherboard and it is quite cheap!