8X Pro card in 8X AGP slot

firebirdude

Distinguished
Aug 16, 2004
Sorry for the newbie question guys, but I'm new.:) If my motherboard doesn't have a 8X PRO agp slot, can I use a PRO video card? Example, I have an 8X agp slot and I want to use the 9800Pro video card.....????

AMD 2800+ (Barton Core)
Asus A7N8X
2 X 512MB Mushkin RAM
Sapphire ATI 9800PRO

Blasphemy

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2004
Yes I believe any 8x video card can be run at 4x but of course it won't preform as well. Same with 4x video cards in a 8x slot. it's all compatible

----------------------------------------------------
AMD Athlon XP 2100+ stock
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB generic RAM
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/335

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
LMAO, I've been telling people this for 3 years now, the 9800 "Pro" is NOT an AGP Pro card, it's a standard AGP card! It's compatable with ALL AGP equiped motherboards.

AGP PRO (which the 9800 Pro isn't) adds extra power pins to the slot, if the 9800 Pro really was AGP Pro it wouldn't need that 4-pin power connector.

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

davemar14

Distinguished
Feb 7, 2003
Yes, Crashman is right. There are tons of people out there with the following system: Athlon XP, Asus A7N8X, and 9800 Pro's. It will work fine. People only have problems when you try to run an old 3.3 V AGP card in a 1.5 V slot. But any card that is AGP4x or higher will work in any AGP 8X board.

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
The 9800 and 9800 Pro are all AGP Universal, which means they work in all AGP slots and support 3.3v and 1.5v signals. Being AGP8x they also work with 0.8v signals.

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>