Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Help me configure Win 7 for new Rig *new build*

Last response: in Windows 7
June 30, 2010 4:19:41 PM

Hey guys,

First off I have a question on relocating my current Windows 7. My laptop that I am using right now has Windows 7 64-bit. I also have a key that has not been used for a 32-bit Windows 7. I want to wipe my laptop and use that key for 64-bit install on my new PC and throw the 32-bit on my laptop. I have both disks ready to install and the keys, will I be able to "re-use" the 64-bit in this manor?

I am getting all my parts in today from newegg to build my new computer. This is my first build so I have a few questions on setting up the software. I bought this MOBO GIGABYTE GA-790XTA-UD4 AM3 AMD 790X SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard and I have heard through reviews that you need to update the BIOS right away. I don't really know how to do that. I went to the GIGABYTE website and found the latest BIOS update and downloaded it. What do I do with this software once I start up my computer and enter the BIOS?? I am not really sure how to set this up or install Windows 7 from a freshly built PC.

Any suggestions, advice, answers, or direction to other articles would be very helpful because I want to build this PC today and have Windows 7 64-bit up and running :) 

Thanks,

Shockem :bounce: 

Best solution

a b $ Windows 7
June 30, 2010 4:31:10 PM

Quote:
First off I have a question on relocating my current Windows 7. My laptop that I am using right now has Windows 7 64-bit. I also have a key that has not been used for a 32-bit Windows 7. I want to wipe my laptop and use that key for 64-bit install on my new PC and throw the 32-bit on my laptop. I have both disks ready to install and the keys, will I be able to "re-use" the 64-bit in this manor?