Desktop repl.(Gaming, sometimes CAD). 1300$

Status
Not open for further replies.

w3land

Honorable
Sep 4, 2012
An engineer student wanting to buy a decent desktop replacement, having weird principles and beliefs that clog up my mind. I have little knowledge, no experience...

---What is your budget?
1300$ might be a bit more, might be less

---- What is the size
At least 15.6, although 17 would be nice

---What screen resolution do you want?
I haven't had experience, don't know the difference so: FOR GUILD WARS 2, so dat pictures would be nice enough :D

--- How much battery life, Hard drive do you need?
My logic is that if i take as less Baterry life and Hard Drive, I can get better parameters on proccessor, graphics card blabla

------What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.)
Will be using CAD from time to time, but as far as i know it doesn't require much..

----If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.
This is my childish understanding from hearing from PCs repairing shops:

***** "Don't buy HP, HP brakes! Ventilation system is awful!"
[considering the fact that it will heat up from GUILDS WARS 2]

****** "DON'T buy AMD proccessors!!!! All laptops I have for repair are with AMD proccessors!!!! you hear me!!!?????"
[so now I am PARANOID looking at any laptop with AMD!!!!!!!!!!! except Radeon graphics cards.... ]

***** "Buy Dell Asus, lenovo, Samsung, Toshiba, Acer..." " Sony doesn't advertise but have very good new VAIOs" ""IF you want reaaaly best, buy MAC, my little daughter droped mac on the ground 3 times, it's fine!!!" [won't buy anyway]

***** "Buy from more known companies, because they are better built and you are more likely to avoid overheatings and blablabla ! "

***** " Get a cooling pad! you will overheat your pc 100% while playing games, even if you don't take it anywhere!