Tom's Hardware > Forum > Graphic & Displays > Graphics Cards > ATI website-Something screwed up my computer!

ATI website-Something screwed up my computer!

Forum Graphic & Displays : Graphics Cards - ATI website-Something screwed up my computer!

Tom's Hardware: Over 1.4 million members in 6 different countries available to answer all your high-tech questions. Sign up now! Its free!
Word :    Username :           
 

Before anyone jumps to conclusions let me first say that I dont know for sure that the ATI website caused this problem, but it started the first time I clicked on the Driver Download section.

A couple of hours ago I went to the ATI website. The second that I clicked on the driver section my computer went crazy. My system began to open multiple IE's at a very fast rate. I went into the task manager to see what was going on. I have never seen that many replicated progams. I finally had to pull the plug to turn the system off.

Im not suggesting that ATI has put a bug on their website. Im not even suggesting that there is a bug on their website. The main reason that I posted this was to see if anyone else has had problems like this when on the ATI website. One more thing, I only clicked on one of the sections I wasnt downloading anything.

Sponsored Links
Register or log in to remove.

Nope just downloaded the latest W2K/XP drivers (control panel AND control center versions) without any trouble, with same result using IE and Mozilla (FireFox) tried both simultaneously.

Are you all patched up and updated?

Anywhoo, nothing strange at this end.


- You need a licence to buy a gun, but they'll sell anyone a stamp <i>(or internet account)</i> ! - <font color=green>RED </font color=green> <font color=red> GREEN</font color=red> GA to SK :evil:

Reply to TheGreatGrapeApe

Im patched and updated. I havent had any problems or noticed anything strange until I went to that website. I reset the jumper on my MOBO and everything seems to be fine. I wasnt downloading anything I just clicked on one of the sections. Oh well, maybe its nothing to be concerned about. It sure is weird though. I have never had that particular problem before.

Reply to mozzartusm

That sort of behavior is usually caused by spyware and similarly malicious/annoying programs. Make sure your system is clean; I'd recommend running <A HREF="http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html" target="_new">SpywareBlaster</A>, <A HREF="http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareguard.html" target="_new">SpywareGuard</A>, and <A HREF="http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/index.html" target="_new">Spybot - Search and Destroy</A>.

Reply to asgallant

I run all of those and then some. It still could be a bug of some type. Thanks

Reply to mozzartusm

the ati website doesnt work right in mississippi...

"Never underestimate the predictability of Stupidity."
<A HREF="http://www.cameronwilliamson.com" target="_new">-={Psychotic Sociopath.}=-</A>
<font color=blue>R.I.P. O.D.B.</font color=blue>

Reply to mrface

Quote :

I finally had to pull the plug to turn the system off




hahah classic.

-------
<A HREF="http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/you.html" target="_new">please dont click here! </A>

Reply to phial

The system mentioned in this post does have a virus. I have no idea when, where, or who but it started replicating at the same time I was on that web site. Im still trying to figure out where it came from, or at least how long it had been there. Im running Norton Antivirus and their firewall. It still got by all of that.

Reply to mozzartusm

<font color=red><b>Coincidence or Government plot?????</b></font color=red>

ROFL. Just kidding Mozzart.... Couldn't resist. :D

In all seriousness though, some of those lil' bastards create mirror-like websites to originals and when you click on a link you download a virus or the likes. This happens when you don't type in the website exactly and you are redirected to this fake_mirror where the fun begins. I'm not suggesting this happened to you but just offering it as 1 possible explanation. ;)

<font color=green>AMD 64 3700+
ASUS K8N-E Deluxe
CORSAIR XMS (1gb) PC-3200
Gigabyte GF 6800gt 256mb
Audigy 2 ZS
2_36.7gb Raptors/Raid 0
Tt 480 watt PSU</font color=green>
<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by lazerous on 01/11/05 10:17 AM.</EM></FONT></P>

Reply to Lazerous

Post your problem on NV's forums, and the rumors of ATI'd drivers containing viruses will circulate for ages. from there, they will fill Anands forums. Can't ya just see it?

Every month or two someone will be here asking what NV card to buy and scoff at ATI recommendations because of all the complaining about how loads of people have caught viruses using ATI's hardware.

We need to smash that computer and silence you soon. :lol:



<A HREF="http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3400555" target="_new"> My</A>
<A HREF="http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8268935" target="_new">Gamer</A>

Reply to pauldh

HAHAHAHAHA :lol:

<font color=green>AMD 64 3700+
ASUS K8N-E Deluxe
CORSAIR XMS (1gb) PC-3200
Gigabyte GF 6800gt 256mb
Audigy 2 ZS
2_36.7gb Raptors/Raid 0
Tt 480 watt PSU</font color=green>

Reply to Lazerous

The funny thing, mozzartusm just got an nV card for his system. I assumed he was getting the drivers for something else, but maybe he was simply so accustomed to downloading ATI drivers because of his previous card he didn't realize what he'd done. :wink:

It's an nV conspiracy from all sides. :lol:


- You need a licence to buy a gun, but they'll sell anyone a stamp <i>(or internet account)</i> ! - <font color=green>RED </font color=green> <font color=red> GREEN</font color=red> GA to SK :evil:

Reply to TheGreatGrapeApe

That explains it. It's an NV issue.

Or ATI's messing with him. :lol: Must've been an FX5200 he bought and ATI's slick hardware detection scheme decided he needed to be punished accordingly. Something like, FX series detected, Warning. Another FX owner drooling over our official drivers. maybe he doesn't know how to use google to find a beta for his card. Ahh, he clicked on our driver downloads page, initiating upload LOL_a_FX.vbs.

Ok, I am stretching it. Why would they bother infecting his system with a virus, if they already know that the FX renders it useless already. [hehehehe]



<A HREF="http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3400555" target="_new"> My</A>
<A HREF="http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8268935" target="_new">Gamer</A>

Reply to pauldh

Actually he got a nice card, a GF6600GT, but I like to think it's a conspiracy, just sounds better than random infection.

And so I figured out who dun-it in the library with a candlestick, it's always the person you'd least suspect... XGI! :wink:


- You need a licence to buy a gun, but they'll sell anyone a stamp <i>(or internet account)</i> ! - <font color=green>RED </font color=green> <font color=red> GREEN</font color=red> GA to SK :evil:

Reply to TheGreatGrapeApe

XGI sucks.

________________
<b>Radeon <font color=red>9700 PRO</b></font color=red> <i>(o/c 332/345)</i>
<b>AthlonXP <font color=red>3200+</b></font color=red> <i>(Barton 2500+ o/c 400 FSB)</i>
<b>3dMark03: <font color=red>5,354</b>

Reply to Cleeve

lol @ XGI


Yeah, I figured he probably bought a real NV card, just had to take the opportunity to laugh at the FX series again. Honestly the number of FX5200-5700LE questions/threads/buyers lately has me amazed. Sad that people are spending up to $155(US) for an FX5700le, when they can get a 9600 pro must cheaper than that. Shoot, if NV is a must have at least step up to a 6600GT/6800 for a little over $200, or on a budget buy a used GF4Ti for half the cost of that FX5700LE.




<A HREF="http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3400555" target="_new"> My</A>
<A HREF="http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8268935" target="_new">Gamer</A>

Reply to pauldh

Quote :

The funny thing, mozzartusm just got an nV card for his system. I assumed he was getting the drivers for something else, but maybe he was simply so accustomed to downloading ATI drivers because of his previous card he didn't realize what he'd done.


I knew that I was going to end up being the conspiracy king :eek:

Actually the 6600GT is for my Intel 775 system. I wasnt upgrading I built a new system. I was looking for info on my other system.

Reply to mozzartusm

This is a good example of how rumors get started :smile:

I had to go back and read my original post 4 times after reading your replies.

Reply to mozzartusm

yeah whateva we know you got NV cards and a NV tattoo on your back.

"Never underestimate the predictability of Stupidity."
<A HREF="http://www.cameronwilliamson.com" target="_new">-={Psychotic Sociopath.}=-</A>
<font color=blue>R.I.P. O.D.B.</font color=blue>

Reply to mrface

Can you tell it's winter and people are getting bored/cabin-fever?

Aliens stole my BIOS then gave me a thermal probe! :lol:

Yeah I shoulda mentioned whole new system,but mind wandering to ways of making this conspiracy theory more intruiging.

Alot of us post about our cross platform confusions. I still can't get the SmartShader Effects (ATi) to work on my Laptop (nV)! :wink:

- You need a licence to buy a gun, but they'll sell anyone a stamp <i>(or internet account)</i> ! - <font color=green>RED </font color=green> <font color=red> GREEN</font color=red> GA to SK :evil:

Reply to TheGreatGrapeApe
Tom's Hardware > Forum > Graphic & Displays > Graphics Cards > ATI website-Something screwed up my computer!
Go to:

There are 809 identified and unidentified users. To see the list of identified users, Click here.

Please mind

You are about to answer a thread that has been inactive for more than 6 months.
If you still wish to proceed, please ensure that your posting is original and does not duplicate or overlap any prior responses to this thread.

Add a reply Cancel
Sponsored links
  • Ask the community now
  • Publish
Ad
They won a badge
Join us in greeting them