Getting a new laptop. I really need help plz!

Status
Not open for further replies.

JxF

Honorable
Sep 18, 2012
Hello everyone !

I am new to this site and have been looking around for some of the answers to my questions, which I have enountered regarding a new laptop. I really want a student / gaming pc, with a 15" inch screen( since I will have to carry it around alot, but still want something to look at while gaming).

I am thinking about buying it at a small local computer shop, since they usually are very nice when I need them to help fix. a problem with my computer(desktop).

Even thouh I have very little knowledge about hardware and software in generall(usually limited to information that can enhance my gameplay) , I can sometimes be a pretty hardcore gamer and therefore loathe any lag/fps drop in my games. I used to play hardcore CS1.6 and I have over 2.5 year played alot of Heroes of Newerth (MOBA). I'm recently been thinking about starting on Guild Wars 2 or CS:GO.

I am not so interested in prices here, but more that what i buy will go well together and that i wont have a bottleneck problem on my hardware.

Here is the offer I am currently looking at:

Graphic card: Gefore GTX 660M
Processor: Intel core i7 3610 QM 2.3 Ghz
Memmory: 8Gb SoDimm DDR-3 1600 Kingston (should I go for 8GB or the 2x8GB ?)
Hard drive: Seagate 2,5" Momentus 320 GB 7200 XT
Motherboard: They have not written anything about the motherboard ( but they said i could have the 16GB in it if i wantet) What specs should I look for in a motherboard? Should I ask anything specific about the motherboard to be sure?

Any comment on any of this would be a help.
(Sorry for the bad gramma) - JxF

PurpleTangent

Honorable
Sep 18, 2012
[strike]This website might help a bit: http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp