Sign in with
Your question

Gaming cards v/s Workstation

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 13, 2005 9:29:02 PM

I am looking at the ATI 1900 and nVidia 7900 cards and Please I do not want to start a comparison thread.

From a gaming standpoint, I beleive either of these cards will give me a very satisfying experience. But my concern is beyond the ability to play games, as I am a graphic designer and want to eventually move my workstation to the DCC environment and have the best of both worlds. To truly take advantage of programs such as 3DS max X, and AutoCAD, I have been told that I need to have a workstation level card - DO I?

Should I look at the ATI v7300 or the nVidia 4500 series cards if my primary concern is to use programs such as Abobe Photoshop, Macromedia and Corel Painter then when I move to 3DS will I suffer because I did not purchase the workstation level card?

A few years back 256MB cards were dreams, now they are a reality. I know that we had some very monumental issues with drivers - so is the real difference still drivers or will the great performance of these new cards give satisfactory performance in the high end software programs? Granted not at comparable speeds - but at least run the programs. I know to render a short animation it will require individual stills to be rendered then put together and this is a very heavy processor load requirement even in a render farm environment. SO a balance of CPU speed and adaquate RAM must be at the foundation.

I use AutoCAD and find my low end 128MB card has no problems and I can even render stills in Strata with no problem.

When is it necessary to have the workstation level cards and not advisable to try an run 3D software with the ATI or Nvidia cards?

What advantage will I get with a certified card and workstation level drivers running the above software?
February 14, 2005 12:26:13 AM