Are USA Graphics cards UK compatable?

UK_GrimNir

Distinguished
Feb 22, 2005
Ok I'm a newbie, and I looked through 12 pages and couldn't see this, so if this is already answered some where I appologise.

My question is simply this.... I am aware that USA uses different type of power supply to UK. (Yep sorry I'm from good old blighty) I "think" the PSU for both countries differ, but "believe" that it converts to same before transfering power to motherboard. If so I believe computer parts purchased in USA should be usable in the UK.

However a friend of mine claimed that this is not so and that I would be unable to use a graphics card purchased in USA on my UK motherboard and system.

The reason I ask is I'm visiting my sister in USA this year and noticed that the top of the range graphics cards are upto half the UK retail prices in your fair country. I had hoped to purchase one before I return home and save myself in excess of £100 (roughly $200), but this would be pointless if I couldn't use it when I got home.

I hope someone can help me with this. I've been scouring the internet, I'm sure the answers out there, (x-files flash back sorry) but I'm obviously too thick to ask the right question, as hours of frustration later I'm still none the wiser.

RX8

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2004
hay hay fellow uker.

your mates chatting crap.

you can buy a grfix card from anywhere in the world and it will work in your motherboard as long as you got the correct slot type, there is AGP and PCIE. check you Motherboard for what slot it has, and buy that slot type grafx card.

the PSU thing usa and uk, on the back of most psu there is a slide switch which says 110volt or 220/240 volt this makes pc compatilbe to world power supplys.

all psu`s give the same standard power to all motherboards there is no compatiblity issues to worry about buddy.

Enjoy your trip to the usa, bring back a couple of kicker solerbaric L7 15inch subs and 2 1200 watt rms kicker amps for me thx.