Sign in with
Your question

Need a Graphics Card Recommendation

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 10, 2005 2:38:09 PM

Hi guys...I need a graphics card recommendation, so I've come to the "pros" for advice. I am building a new system, and I am now looking for a graphics card. Here's the system so far...
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ s939
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D
Mushkin 1GB PC3200

This is not a gaming computer, but one that I mostly use for heavy video and audio editing along with office work. The card I need would be mostly used for video capture straight off of my DIRECTV or DVD player, or just ripping from CD's or DVD's. I'd also like one with a TIVO like ability. Since the mobo doesn't have AGP, I'll need a PCI card. This is one subject that I have little or no knowledge about, so I'd appreciate any advice you guys have. Thanks in advance!!
March 10, 2005 3:12:49 PM

If you're sure games aren't going to be played, then get the cheapest card uyou can with decent display quality, and a separate TV capture card, like Ati's TV wonder.

Although it's probably more expensive, you should see if you can find an All-In-Wonder radeon card... they come with a nice bundle and all the TIVO connections you'll need. I believe they make a PCI version of the all-in-wonder LE.

but it might be cheaper to go with separate cards, you'll have to research...

March 10, 2005 3:40:09 PM

Someone has suggested an ATI All-In-Wonder RADEON X600 PRO, and I have looked at prices for it. I was just looking to see if there was any other options, or if anyone may have used this particular card? Any comments or suggestions?
Related resources
March 10, 2005 3:55:03 PM

One second...

OK, you don't mean PCI... you mean PCI-Express, which is a different thing altogether.

Yep, the X600 Pro All-in-wonder will do the job, but frankly - it's overkill if you're never going to play games. Although, the all-in-wonder cards do come with some nice software and a nifty wireless remote.