Dual boot Linux/WIN2K

sparky853

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2003
I am a complete newbie to inux, so please bear with me as I ask some simple(?) questions.

I just installed RH 8.0 as a second OS on a machine with win2K. They are installed on seperate HDD, and I get the boot loader on startup.

The problem I have is in WIN2K. When I open My Computer, it takes a LONG time to refresh, and I can see the Linux drive, but if I try to access it, it freezes explorer.

What causes this? is it incompatibility between the two file systems? How can I fix this. I don't want to access the linux drive from windows, but I would at least like to be able to open explorer without waiting like 3 mins for it to refresh.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

If I was as sexy as I was smart.....I'd still be ugly..DAMN :mad:
**Finally made Newbie...HAPPY DANCE..HAPPY DANCE..**

silverpig

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
What filesystem did you use for the redhat partition? Normally you can't even see the linux partition from windows.

I think with redhat you are pretty limited in your options, but you should have chosen ext3 as your best bet.

Some day I'll be rich and famous for inventing a device that allows you to stab people in the face over the internet.

sparky853

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2003
I used ext2 for the file system. I figured out a half-ass solution though. I used partition magic to change the size of my main windows partition (NTFS), and used the extra as a shared partition (FAT).

Starting to figure things out. :)

I am in the process of installing mandrake 9.1 on an old comp at home, see what its like. And I used ext3 on this one :D

silverpig

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
You should have left it unformatted in partition magic. I think there might have been some messed up FAT table thing going on. Your windows remembers you created that partition, but you now reformatted it in linux.