NVIDIA GeForce Go 6800 Ultra VS. Quadro FX Go 1400

renatonow

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2005
Hi, I'm new to the GPU world and would like to have some help comparing this two graphics cards:

1)NVIDIA GeForce Go 6800 Ultra
and
2) NVIDIA Quadro FX Go 1400

The reason is that I'm going to study computer graphics and I would like to buy an Alienware notebook so I'm not sure which one should I buy.

I just want to have the best perfomance.

Thank you very much.

shawnlizzle =]

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2005
tell us what you are going to do with the laptop first. the go6800 is more of everyday gaming and the quadro is more for rendering/working. but then.. you are commiting a double sin, one for buying alienware, and two for buying an alienware laptop. why do i say this? because you are getting ripped off BIG time on buying alienware in teh first place, but buying a laptop?! phewww... expect a battery life of around 1 hour!

<font color=red>gforce mx100/200 @ 230/440 =]</font color=red>

renatonow

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2005
Hi, thanks for you're reply.

By looking at the specs, looks like GeForce Ultra is more powerfull than the Quadro (for instance Memory Bandwith is 35.2 on the Geforce, compared to 19.4 on the Quadro).

So why is the Quadro more expensive since, at a glance, it looks like an inferior product?.

Also, what makes the Quadro "the ultimate solution for digital content creators and engineers". Does it have something that engineers will be able to do with the Quadro that the GeForce don't provide?.

Thank you so much again.

R

shawnlizzle =]

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2005