Sign in with
Your question

Next step for a helpdesk role?

Last response: in Business Computing
August 29, 2012 4:07:07 PM

Hello,

Good day i am new here in tom's hardware but i am reading some of the articles for 6 years now and i learned a lot. I am currently a Helpdesk Technician for almost 3 years now and my previous jobs was a technical support representative from 2 different international contact centers.

Is it ok now to move to a different role or wait for a little longer?

all i have is my experience and attending some trainings but the only certificate that i have is a dell resolution expert.

thanks and regards
Gene

More about : step helpdesk role

August 29, 2012 4:22:05 PM

Upward mobility is a good thing. Other than what you listed here, what certifications, training, education, experience, etc do you have? All of this matters in a resume and application. And, are other opportunities available where you are now or would like to move to?

Those are the considerations you should apply to this discussion.

BTW, welcome to Tom's Forums. This is, indeed, one of the premiere sites on the greater 'Net to exchange tech ideas and solve problems. You won't find better anywhere.

Good luck!
August 29, 2012 4:48:01 PM

I have been in the business 15+ years. What I would recommend for you is an A+ cert. While it is a crap certification IMO it will help you get your foot in the door of positions where the hiring manager are technically clueless and are only looking at certifications. MCSE is another good one but is expensive and lengthy. One thing to remember, you don't always need to know everything but you do need to know how to find the answers. Good luck.
Related resources
Anonymous
August 29, 2012 5:31:58 PM