Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Inspiron 9400 display barely functional 2 days after cleanout

Last response: in Laptop Tech Support
November 15, 2012 3:14:54 AM

Hey,

So I've had this laptop for a few years now, and have started to experience frequent overheating/shutdowns.
I finally got around to opening it up and carefully blowing out the fans/vents with a can of compressed air, and it was back to 'normal' -- for a couple of days. Turned it off last night, was working fine. Once turned on today, the display is barely functional.

By that, I mean it's "pretty much" dead -- only occasionally (every time the resolution? changes) you can see it, fine -- but then it's gone again. Plugged it into an external monitor; it behaves fine there.

I figured I mustn't have seated the LCD display cable properly, and it must have dislodged or something... so I (begrudgingly) took it apart again, and tried reseating it, but I haven't had any luck.

To be clear, it won't show anything constantly -- not the POST screen, nothing.

The only thing left I can think of, is it must be the video card - the external monitor's connecting onboard, as far as I can tell. It *COULD* be the display itself, but I highly doubt it -- it seems far too coincidental I clean it out, and it breaks a few days later. The display itself wasn't touched.

Since it's long out of warranty, that'd set me back $120-150 (according to eBay), but I don't want to make any rash decisions and purchase something I'm not convinced will solve the problem. It'd be safer just getting a new laptop.