genesisofthesith

Distinguished
Sep 8, 2003
I am looking into building a new pc, to complement a 6 month old store bought pc (a packard bell imedia 5094). I am fine with setting up the hardware, but how exactly would I install Windows xp onto the new hard disk, would I need to install ide controllers etc. before using a cd/dvd drive? Would windows auto install off a disk? And what security measures would stop me using an existing copy of windows xp or a copied disk? Thanks in advance to any help you could give a complete novice like me.

Be very specific in what you want to do, and what Windows installation disk you have or do you have a restore disk, you said a 6m old Packard Bell, did you mean a 6m old Hewlett Packard, I thought Hewlett Packard bought out Packard Bell, or is the computer used, more details please.

<b><font color=purple>Details, Details, Its all in the Details, If you need help, Don't leave out the Details.</font color=purple></b>

genesisofthesith

Distinguished
Sep 8, 2003
The computer is a packard bell, its a 2.53ghz imedia 4094. Packard Bell is still a brand name in the uk, and still release computers. This system only came with a restore disk, and as such would not be suitable for installing xp on a new system. I just want to know how you would install xp on a system, if you could suggest all the options that would be greatly appreciated.

jmecor

Distinguished
Jul 7, 2003
what you need is a bootable WIN98 disk.
Boot using that win98 disk.
Then if you have a cd of WINXP,
go to e:\i386\winnt.exe (for clean installs).

<font color=green>If your nose <b>RUNS</b>, and feet <b>SMELLS</b>.
Then you must be born <b>UP-SIDE DOWN</b>.</font color=green>

jmecor

Distinguished
Jul 7, 2003
maybe your hdd doesn't have yet any file systems.
If that's the case
* again using a WIN98 boot disk.
* a:
* fdisk.exe
* support for larger volumes (YES)
* select create a new logical primary partition (FAT32).
* apply
* just follow the instructions....