Kodiak

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Regarding Tom's latest review of two cards:
I'm not a professional graphics card user. However, it seems to me that for a person who makes his/her living off his/her videocard, or for a company that has to install cards in 100s or 1000s of computers, the most important factor is not the raw performance, but rather reliability.
This was not mentioned at all in the review.
The Geforce2 GTS card has in some tests greatly surpassed the FireGL card, while being one fifth the price. So why don't companies buy it? Because they're not willing to mess around with mobos, drivers and setup as much as we are. They want to stick it in and have it work until they decide to stick something else in:)

It seems to me therefore that review has completely missed the requirements of its market audience. Just listing the features (available in the brochure) and running a few pre-made benchmarks is hardly an effort or a conclusive review of a $1200 investment...

Again though, I'm not a professional user, so I'm eager to be educated on how professional CAD designers etc use their cards and how useful was this review to them

G

I agree. From a business standpoint, stability is worth the extra cost in the long term.

G

i think you should read that article one more time carefully.
as the review pointed out the card IS specially engineered for the most CAD designers habbit/workflow.
creating/editing with wireframe model > texturing on final output.

designers working on frame models all the time.

FireGL series are designed for OpenGL apps. (for making games)
GF2 GTS aimmed to the game market. (for playing games)

you mentioned test should be some game test.
will you invest on a game card in your workplace ?
pls. tell me if you say yes to this. i'll be the first one to send you a application form.

<font color=orange>What do you think? :wink: </font color=orange>

G