Looking for Tablet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Oonej

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2011
I'm looking to get a tablet for christmas.

Not entirely sure which to ask for.

I found one that looked interesting but not entirely sure since this will be my first table.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834230481

This one looks good, but want to make sure so I dont waste 400-500 dollars.

I'm a programmer and looking to work on android apps for the tablet... If that helps in helping me decide on what to get great :)

Below is a list of specs i'm looking for, but will consider other recommendations due to performance / price

Specs i'm looking for:
Speed: FAST!!!
RAM: 1 Gb
Screen Size: 10+
Upgradable/Replaceable MicroSD Card
Storage: 16-32 gigs preferred
Resolution: Bigger the better
Webcam: 8 mp+ (would like a front facing and rear facing) - i understand both will not be 8 mp
Connection: Wifi only required, may reduce price..
mini HDMI : not 100% necessary but would be nice if available
Life: longer the better
Sensor: GPS/Accelerometer etc..

I have to admit that the Transformer is a nice 10.1" tablet especially since it has an optional keyboard which also includes a battery and expansion slots. I am considering a tablet so that I can study (read) on the train or when I am not at home.

However, I think that a 7" tablet might be better for me since I don't really plan to type on it for any extensive period of time and I intend on buying a new laptop either in 2013 (Haswell) or 2014 (Broadwell). I'm thinking about something along the lines of Kindle Fire HD, the Nexus 7, or Galaxy Tab 2.

I dunno... I don't want to spend money on something just to end up not using if it cannot cut it as a studying device.

Oonej

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2011
This device isn't intended for "studying" since I have a laptop and a desktop already.

The laptop for out-of-state travel ... doing group study/programming work on campus