Sign in with
Your question

Best team shooters...

Last response: in Video Games
November 5, 2002 3:21:24 AM

Okay - I'll admit it. I'm new to team multiplayer games. In fact, I only started because I saw a friend playing Renegade online and thought it looked fun.

I had the Renegade demo on a Maximum PC CD-ROM, so I tried it and played during a large portion of my free time for about a week before going back to some of the games I hadn't finished from the summer.

I usually like to play a supporting role (ie. engineer or stealth tank). My question is, what team based shooters would you say are good and allow a variety of playing styles. Although not necessary, it would be nice if it would run on a slower computer so I wouldn't need to wait in line for my dad's good computer. My slower (okay, really slow) computer is a K6-2 450 with 256MB of RAM and a Matrox G200, which I plan to replace with a Geforce 2 MX.

More about : team shooters

November 6, 2002 5:18:18 AM

Try Unreal Fortress - free mod for Unreal Tournament (www.unrealfortress.com), it's currently my favourite.
Unreal Fortress is UT version of old classic Team Fortress, originally created for Quake 1. It allows you to play as: commando (soldier), heavy gunner, armourer (engineer), medic, saboteur (spy), arsonist, demolitionist, scout and marksman. They are VERY different in playstyle, my favourites are commando & armourer.
November 6, 2002 11:05:48 PM

yeah, i was gonna recommend TFC (team fortress classic), its the halflife version of what thaloc recommended. It can run well on low end systems too. Before i upgraded i ran it on a K6-II 500, 256 MB ram, and an integrated Trident Blade video chip *cringe* and it ran the game good.