Sign in with
Your question

What do i need to capture wifi signals from miles away

Last response: in Laptops & Notebooks
January 2, 2013 6:31:43 PM

Hello,
i want to be able to capture free hotspots ( cloud, BT openzone, etc) from my laptop on my small yacht? What equipment do I need?
January 2, 2013 6:31:48 PM

Hello,
i want to be able to capture free hotspots ( cloud, BT openzone, etc) from my laptop on my small yacht? What equipment do I need?
January 2, 2013 6:42:01 PM

im no expert but i would guess some sort of industrial antenna or something of that nature, but you will most likely need alot of electricity for whatever you do end up needing
Related resources
a b D Laptop
January 2, 2013 6:42:53 PM

hotspots have a limited range lets just say 300 feet.
January 2, 2013 6:47:37 PM

It doesn't work like that, you might (emphasis on might) be able to pick up some wifi if you are docked, but the farther away you get, the more the signal drops out. The most increase you may get is a extra couple hundred feet at most (and that's being optimistic). Sorry, but what you are asking for is virtually impossible. Just do some google searches for wifi antenna boosters and see what is offered. That is about as good as it will get.
January 2, 2013 6:55:28 PM

:o  Really? on your small Yacht? Try just buying some internet jeez dont spend so much on yacht and maybe can afford some internet.....
January 2, 2013 7:07:22 PM

google this video it is called 1 man 1 jar, its a very cool invention this man made and it should help you solve your problem. Other than that all i can say is buy yourself some internet.
January 2, 2013 7:10:07 PM

The cantenna!!!..
http://www.cantenna.com/
Why don't you get one and tell us how it works. I bet $1.00 it awsome.
I lose a lot of bets though.
a c 406 D Laptop
January 2, 2013 7:10:43 PM