Sign in with
Your question

Laptop for Accounting Student

Tags:
January 9, 2013 2:23:52 AM

Hello everyone. I am an accounting student and I need a laptop for school and gaming. So here we go:

1. What is your budget?

I need to keep the price tag under $1300 firm.

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?

15.6" preferably. I feel this is the perfect compromise between screen real estate and size as I will need to carry this with me to class and some of the desks at my school can be on the smaller side.

3. What screen resolution do you want?

1920x1080

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?

Somewhere in between the two, but more towards the desktop replacement.

5. How much battery life do you need?

Minimum 4 hours with the brightness turned down and doing web-surfing and taking notes. Minimum 3 hours when doing heavy spreadsheet calculations.

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?

Yes. The games I play include Far Cry 3, Borderlands 2, Saints Row 3, Skyrim, Sims 3, Trains Simulator 2013, Flight SImulator X, the list goes on. I prefer a minimum of medium settings at 1920x1080, the is as low as I am comfortable and happy with, any settings higher are just a plus.

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.)

I will need to be able to quickly work with and edit large spreadsheets as well as quickly perform large calculations in these large spreadsheets. I have no idea what affects performance in spreadsheets, but I would assume the processor and RAM are important.

8. How much storage (Hard Drive capacity) do you need?

minimum 750GB 7200rpm Hard Drive, the more the better though.

9. If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.

xoticpc.com or newegg.com

10. How long do you want to keep your laptop?

Minimum 3 years