Sign in with
Your question

force new IP

Last response: in Networking
April 21, 2002 3:18:34 AM

I am new to the networking game so I'm playing around with somethings to try to learn more about it... I figured out how to get into my cable modem through http, but I can't seem to make any changes (that I know of). My question is:

How can I force my Surfboard 4100 cable modem to let go of my IP address and obtain a new one? or is that controlled by the lease from the CISP?

My objective is to have my IP changed when/if I want to change it... I'm running WinXP and have changed the IP to another (simply upping the last three digits a coupla numbers) but it doesn't seem to work. As a matter of fact, I even put in the exact same IP, Subnet Mask, Default Gateway, DHCP Server, and primary and secondary DNS numbers but it wouldn't connect unless I let WinXP make the decisions...

Anybody care to school me?

Thanks,
Ret

More about : force

April 21, 2002 3:46:05 AM

The cable company gives you the IP, not the other way around. You have to use that or you don't have access.

<font color=red>:</font color=red> <font color=white>:</font color=white> <font color=blue>:</font color=blue>
April 21, 2002 1:19:10 PM

I thought that since it was dynamic I could let it go and a different one would come back?

Ret
Related resources
April 21, 2002 2:13:57 PM

Yea dynamic enough to assign you the same IP everytime =), my cable actually gives out different IPs to different MAC addresses. So my router gets a different IP than when i hook up straight to the PC.

If you think it is otherwise, just reset the modem and find out if it's different.

<font color=red>:</font color=red> <font color=white>:</font color=white> <font color=blue>:</font color=blue>
April 21, 2002 2:20:46 PM