Linux hohoho

Bosse

Distinguished
May 31, 2003
How worthless is linux ?? from a scale 1-100 ???? 101 ??

AMD 2500+ @ 3200+ - Volcano 9 - A7N8X/DLX - Corsair XMS TWINX 3200LL 1024MB - GF 3 TI-200 - 2x WD Raptor RAID 0 - Maxtor DiamondMax Plus9 120Gb 7200rpm Special Edition - Hiper 420w.

blah

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
for you? ... PR100+ (completely useless)
for the rest of whoever's using it +++ (completely useful)

..this is very useful and helpful place for information...

funkdog

Distinguished
Apr 4, 2001
well I can back that up sorta, installed Knoppix 3.3 on my pc and sat here for days trying to get Kazaa lite to work under wine, to no avail.... Linux takes alot of work and dedication to get to work to a tee. At least that's my opinion. I have limited experience using HP-UX in the military and have dabbled here and there with various versions of linux, Suse, redhat, knoppix, peanut, vector. And have yet to find anything remotely as CONVIENENT as windows 2000.

Now I'm not a Windows fanboy by anymeans, hell I'll try anything other than windows, but for ease of use, and no hassle program support, I'll stick with Microcrap. Until open source gets global support, I don't see it grabbing ahold of the everyday user.

my 2 cents.

<b>"These are my thoughts, your mileage may vary."

TKS

Distinguished
Mar 4, 2003
New releases from Linux such as RedHat 9.0 and Slackware 9.1 have great plug and play capability. Soon, windows won't have anything on ease of use. Remember that Linux is only about 10 years old. Compare that to windows which is over ten years old. Which one has made more progress?

----------
<b>Got any of that beer that has candy floating in it? You know, Skittlebrau? </b> <i>Homer Simpson</i>

TKS

jimbo99

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2003
Linux is not the trouble. It is the developers and the zealots (or proponents of it, however you choose to look at it).