Sign in with
Your question

Suggestions on Server Build/Specs for 100 RDP users

Last response: in Business Computing
September 28, 2012 1:22:38 PM

I work at a lawfirm right now (yes...I'm a lawyer who loves technology). I am also the resident techno geek. However, I'm not the best with Networking (although I understand some of the fundamentals).

We are/have been having growing pains with our computer use in the law firm and I was hoping to get some suggestions on what could be done to improve performance.

1st: We currently have about 60 employees who use the server. About 40 are RDP and the other 20, since they are onsite, directly log on. Here is the server that we all use!!!

Specs of current server (as far as I can tell):

Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 2 Enterprise

Intel Quad Core Q8300 @ 2.50ghz
4gb ram
Promise 1X2 Mirror/Raid1 SCSI Disk Drive
A few 2tb Hard Drives, 3 are duplicates (yet you can see them all so I don't think they are Raid0 per se)
Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller

I honestly think this computer is a desktop build and not server grade components. I think that needs to be changed.

2nd: We are working out of multiple locations.

NC:
Charlotte (10 people)
Raleigh (15)
Fayetteville (5)
Jacksonville (10)

VA:
Chesapeake (this is where the server is located...about 20 directly log on here)

We also sometimes have the random iPad/iPhone or Android RDP on...

3rd: Whenever the system in Chesapeake crashes...the entire lawfirm might as well shutdown.

Is it possible to use servers at each location and have a "Master server" or something along those lines at the Chesapeake location. Something like each location has a server that they use and the date from each of those servers is "synced" with the Chesapeake server continuously (it can't lag because we use software internally on the server right now to communicate).

Do we need to just bump up the specs of the server???