Sign in with
Your question

newbie with perculiar problem?

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
Anonymous
March 3, 2001 8:58:51 PM

I am a newbie and currently have Red Hat 6.2 but it failed to start after installation said succesful. ???

System is
A7V + Duron_900 + HDD_set_to_ATA66 + GF_DDR modified to Quadro

The partitions are all in ONE logical dos drive in one of the Extended partitions

/ have 1000MB
/boot have 300MB
/usr have 1000MB
/usr/local have 1000MB
/home have 1000MB
/SWAP have 588

don't know what they are, simply did it without knowing why?

More than 400 packages installed - took forever - didn't have a choice

on last boot up screen says

L1 cache 64K
L2 cache 1K
kernel panic - attempt ....... kill

have alot on-line manual on CD-rom, been reading alot, but need short-cut instructions specify to A7V + Duron_900 + HDD_set_to_ATA66 + GF_DDR modified to Quadro

saw some other posts about new kernal 2.4 needed so my only first clue is the 6.2 is too old.

if so, how to implement it into a installer? (if ask correctly !)

can the installer start from the HDD after download? I guess it requires boot disk

looks obvious I am a newBies, so please help me! many Thanks in advance!!!

Best regards
cx5
Anonymous
March 4, 2001 2:07:07 AM

Hmmm....

My first thoughts are that the kernel is incorrectly recognizing the Duron, and "panicing". I would suggest trying a new distribution. Try to find one with the 2.4 kernel. I have had RedHat 7 running on my TBird, so could try that version also. If you need/want to use RH, you could compile the 2.4 kernel - it's not very hard :) 

From you list of partitions, did you use the "workstation" install? I would recomend against that, as any moderately-aware computer user can understand the custom install.

A note on partitions - you don't really need that many separate partitions. The separation is a long-time UNIX tradition of security and safety. If you are just using the machine for yourself, you could change it to: