Honorable
Feb 25, 2013
Sorry I am a newbie

I am looking at buying a Lenovo G580.
Its has a
•Intel Chief River/Intel Huron River/AMD Deccan
•Intel HM76 (HM75 ready)
Intel Celeron1.8 GHz.

Is this good for the 300 pound mark. Or is there better on hte market.

ianbarlow

Honorable
Feb 25, 2013
what are you doing with this laptop? if its gaming, its not good. it doesnt have a gpu.
Sorry
Hello
I am looking for advice on a laptop for general home use ( not gaming) Office work Photo work and A LOT of internet work.

I saw the Lenovo G580 for 300 pounds and it looked a good deal.
I do not want to spend more than 350.
Thanks in advance for any help.

Ian

aramisathei

Honorable
Aug 25, 2012
If it's just for basic internet work, anything with a CPU will do.
You aren't going to see much difference unless you do something taxing like video editing.

A netbook would probably be a cheaper option.

computernewb

Distinguished
Aug 9, 2010
like aramisathei said, for internet work and general use cpu doesnt matter too much. However i would look for a laptop/notebook with a minimum of 7200 rpm hard drive (if not a ssd). The lenovo g580 has a 5400 rpm hard drive.

ianbarlow

Honorable
Feb 25, 2013
Hello
What is, in reality, the difference in time of having a drive that is 5400 rpm as opposed to 7200 rpm or even ssd.
The G580 is marked down to 299 pounds and that seems a really good deal.
But as you say if the rpm is important I will look elsewhere.
Is there a simple web page that can tell me what I should look for?

The use of the laptop is..
Internet.
Office
and Photoshop.

Thank for your help

Ian

melikepie

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2011