Sign in with
Your question

Small business server

Last response: in Business Computing
October 7, 2012 1:24:00 PM

Hello All
I've build my own PC with some help from you guys, thanks its been running great since Dec. I need to buy/build/get a server for small business. Ease of use being the biggest factor for me as I'm not an IT pro. It needs to backup 2to5 PCs, network to share files, printer, be able to share files with outsiders and limit their ability to only their files. Did some reading and finding that I might be able to do it myself but my budget for my Co is small give take $1,000. Right now I mirror the hard drives when I can/remember and could use Lockbox to exchange files, not there just yet. This is easiest/cheapest way I can do it but a pain and seems like a waste of $ as client base grows. So far the servers of interest for my ability WD sentinel DX4000 & Lacie 5big office. But I still don't know if they will work and or be easy enough for me to use. I'm not interested in the cloud at all. Would like to be able to simply unplug the server and have all my files right ,not some where, where maybe they own my docs or have rights to them build into their agreement. My docs include social security #s. Current suggested readings would be helpful too. Seems some "reviews" are just advertising in disguise.

Thanks for any help

newbusguy

More about : small business server

Anonymous
October 8, 2012 5:00:02 PM

Sounds to me like you're looking for a NAS solution rather than a traditional server.
October 8, 2012 8:23:20 PM

Need.real server based on some sales discussion I had today
Related resources
October 9, 2012 12:40:25 AM

ok I don't seem to be giving any feed back sooo if I change the question maybe it would be better. Server OS choice between small business server 2011 or a linux os sorry I don't know a linux brand/kind looking for something easy to use
Anonymous
October 9, 2012 8:27:39 AM