Please Help a Newbie ASAP!

G

Hey all,

OK let me say I am a total newbie. I thought I knew what was happening but after spending 3 hours at Tom's Hardware I am totally lost.

And I don't even know if this is the best place to post these questions, so if I'm in the wrong place, then please tell me!

Here goes...

I'm about to buy a P4 (423) 1.5 GHz with 2 X 128 RDRAM and a QDI PlatiniX 4X Motherboard, case and power supply for $600 Canadian ($400 US).

First of all, is this a good/bad price (I need to know ASAP) and/or setup?

And more importantly, what video card should I buy (reasonably priced, TV-Out)? I WAS looking at the GeForce 2 MX but people here have said that they have problems with it?

TIA,
shinji

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
You could probably get a socket 478 setup for similar money, with future upgradability garunteed.
Or you could get an ECS K7S5A, an XP1600, and 512MB DDR SDRAM with a case and power supply for even less money.

What's the frequency, Kenneth?

bront

Distinguished
Oct 16, 2001
If you're on a budget, I'd recomend going with a DDR athlon XP system. The Athlon XP 1600+ is reasonably priced, DDR is cheep, and some good mainboards (Asus, Gigabyte, Epox, Abit) based on the KT266A chipset are out there and available.

As for the card, a Geforce2 MX is a decient card, but I can't attest to the quality of the TV out. The ATI cards usually are good for TV out, and I've been told are pretty cheep in Canada. A Radeon DDR or a Radeon 7500 might suit you just fine.

What is your entire system budget, and what do you want to do with the computer? That will help more in figuring out what equipment is better for you.

Chesnuts roasting on an open CPU
Bill Gates nipping at your wallet

AMD_Man

Splendid
Jul 3, 2001
A P4 is not a good buy! Especially a 423 socket P4! Like the onther people recommended, either get a 478 P4 or an Athlon XP. You'll probably be better off with an Athlon XP because it'll be faster for the same amount of money.