if u can answer this one your a genius

G

ive got a HP Pavilion 4422
-433 MHz intel celeronwith MMX technology
-chipset: 440ZX/66
64 MB RAM
current graphics card- voodoo2

i also have a nVidia Geforce2 MX for AGP slot

is it possible to install the Geforce2 in my computer?(of course removing the voodoo2 first)
is the Geforce2 Direct3D compliant?

what the hell is Direct3d?
ive got a game demo- everytime i go to run it - an error says could not execute Direct3D, might be a driver problem!

is this because of the voodoo2 i have installed at the moment?

is Direct3d a file i can download?
i geuss thats enough questions

if u can help me out with this one- you know your stuff about computers- it would be real good if u could enlighten me - like ive been trying to unproblem for about two weeks

username: amateur

dpbement

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2001
I'm not an expert so we'll clear that up real fast.

Direct3D is a 3D format or language that 3D software makers can use. There is also OpenGL and 3DFx. I think that 3DFx is about gone. OpenGL is the 3D format that Quake, Return to Wolfenstein, and most newer first person shooters use. Direct3D is used by games such as Microsoft Combat Flight Simulator and others. If you are getting this message, it may be a driver problem.....download the latest driver from your 3D card manufacturer's website. Also, check into the specs of your card. It may not support Direct3D. This is possible with older cards. I think I had a Matrox Mystique that did not support Direct3D once. Anyway, that's about all I know.

dpbement

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2001
I re-read your post. Remove your old video card and put your new video card in. Double check that the version of your AGP slot in your motherboard manual and make sure the GF2 card supports that. Put your new one in if it does. It will be Direct3D compliant and OpenGL. Download the latest drivers from the Nvidia website. Don't rely on the ones on the CD. They are probably outdated.

No_Tone