Casual Gamer Needs Your Suggestion

Stick_e_Mouse

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2001
As the title would indicate, I am NOT a hard-core gamer. Actually, I fancy multimedia apps (like DVDs & MPEG encoding) first, and 3D-gaming second. When I do play games, I much prefer sports, action, and racing games over fps—actually, I hardly ever play first-person shooters. I haven’t been in the video card scene in a while because my Voodoo3 2000 (o/c so it’s really a 3000) has done wonders for me with the Need4Speed series, Madden 2002, and even Max Payne. But alas, I think it is time for me to retire my old faithful and put him in a good home—in a Linux box where I’ll be doing most of my programming. Now I need your help for a suggestion that will replace my 3dfx and will also last AT LEAST 2 years. Keep in mind I am a poor College student, so I will not listen to any suggests that will cost me more than $100. In fact, my target price is around $65-85 USD. More than anything else, I am looking for the most ‘bang-for-my-money’ video card that would be able to play current and future (future, as in the next 2 years) sports, racing, and some action games, @-least 1024x768 with respectable performance. I could care less if video card A will give me 10 more fps than video game B, if it costs $30 more.

At any rate, I was thinking along the lines of the Radeon VE DDR, 7000 DDR, 7500, Geforce2 GTS, Pro and Ti.

What would be my best choice? What would give me the best performance over my Voodoo card while still staying under $100??
How about the ATI AIW Radeon? I know it is a few bucks over my limit, but since I do more multimedia stuff than gaming, do you think it is worth it? I know the multimedia part is really good, and the TV-Tuner should be WAY better than my current one, but how does the gaming performance of the AIW compare to the others cards I listed above? Will the AIW keep me happy in the next 2 years while playing not-so-graphic-intensive games?