3 months in I don't miss the Start button.

ccovemaker

Honorable
Jul 8, 2012
Look I will be honest. I hated Windows 8.

My computer was on 7 my girlfriends computer was on Vista. If I hated 8 I hated Vista even more. I ended up installing it on my computer just to be running the same system and be the in house tech support to the GF.

Did I mention I hated 8.

I work in IT and work in a win7 environment all day and there are some thing I had to google that I never thought I would have to google.

How you go shutdown windows 8?
How do you get to the control panels in windows 8?
How do you boot in safe mode in windows 8?

I am not going to lie there are just some things did not pop out or that were well layed out.

I had my cursing nerd rage moments over the OS.

NOW 3 MONTHS IN I AM NOT GOING TO LIE I LIKE WINDOWS 8.

The ingorance floating around this OS is comical. "Do you need a touch screen to use 8?", "if I don't get a start button I will never buy 8!!!!''

"Change is bad!!!! Rabel, rabel, rabel." :fou:

To me once you figure out where they put things Win8 is just a slightly updated version of win7 with better start up time and free virus protection.

P.S. Most of the tiles in the much hated Metro start menu can:
1)be turned off or
2)Removed.

Right click and add to the start menu and POOF you have a more colorful "Start button" back.

If your so in love with the desktop wait til it boots up and click the destop icon. Win 7 boot time straight to the desktop is still slower than windows 8 booting start and you clicking your mouse once.

This was not as all dramatic and most nerd ragers made it out to be.

Change happens... Get use to it...

livebriand

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2011