Windows 7 'Not Responding' Issues

Ast0reth

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2010
I just recently decided to go from 32-bit Windows XP Pro (I miss it!) to 64-bit Windows 7 Ultimate. All of my hardware is the same. Obviously, no so for my drivers as I now have a 64-bit OS. My hardware setup is as follows:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Biostar TF560 A2+ Mainboard
2GB A-Data PC2-6400 DDR2 RAM
Radeon HD 4890 via PCIe x16
1x 160GB 7200RPM SATA Internal HDD
1x 200GB 7200RPM IDE Internal HDD
1x 500GB USB2.0 External HDD
1x 1.5TB eSATA External HDD

I had been running 32-bit XP Pro on this box for close to 4 years now, I think, with no problems at all. My friends finally convinced me to 'downgrade' to Windows 7. It was DX10 that sold me on it. Once I get everything set up and all my drivers installed I noticed something strange; when certain actions are being performed (mainly during program installations) close to every other open program stops responding until the action is complete.

I.E. I can run Mass Effect 2 just fine, and that's a pretty hardware-intensive program. However, the second I start to install MS Office I can't even use Firefox because it has stopped responding and I can't bring up Task Manager.

I am leaning towards this being one of two things:
1. A driver problem with something I just can't think of. I've reinstalled most.
2. A power supply problem. That would be strange, as this same setup has run fine in the past. Does Windows 7 somehow draw more power than XP? Does running x64 use more than x86?

Any ideas are much appreciated.

Thanks,
Ast0reth

Wamphryi

Distinguished