What to upgrade: CPU or Graphics Card?

otupman

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2002
Hi all,

Having jointly bought GTA 3 and C&C: Renegade I've discovered that my PC is way, way below par... Renegade is playable, GTA3 barely. Both I run in 640x480 in 16 bit. Hell, I even run UT in that :D

My machine is a Duron 900 with a 32MB GeForce 2MX.

I'm a poor University student from sunny (not) England, therefore I only have two options: upgrade the Video Card or the CPU.

Having taken a look at <A HREF="http://www.tomshardware.com/graphic/02q2/020418/vgacharts-01.html" target="_new">The VGA Comparison</A> on this website, I reckon that my best performance per pound is one of the following: GeForce 3 Ti200, GeForce 4 MX440 or the Radeon 8500LE, though only the Ti200 shines in Quake, Max Payne & 3DMark.

The other option is to upgrade my CPU. My mobo can take an Athlon XP, so the fastest I'd consider buying it an XP 1600+.

So should I buy the graphic card? How does the Ti200 scale when going from a XP2000+ to a Duron 900? (XP2000+ was the processor used in VGA tests).

Or am I barking up the wrong tree, and I want a faster processor? Bear in mind that as far I'm concerned, a Duron 900 is fine for my day-to-day requirements. I'm looking for pure gaming speed.... or at least, as much as is possible on a very slim budget!

Cheers people.

chuck232

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2002
Well what is your budget? If I knew that I'd much be much better able to help you out. If you're in England, I can't really say I know the pricing there though....

My firewall tastes like burning. :eek:

pr497

Distinguished
Oct 21, 2001
since you didnt write any info on your budget..im just going to guess.

i think you should probably get a new video card...the duron 900 is a decent cpu and can run games ok...but the gf2 mx is probably holding you back....you may want to consider getting at least a gf3 ti200 if you are getting a new card.