What's going on with my new vid card?

motoman303

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2002
I just got me a brand-spanking new PNY Geforce 4 Ti 4400. I installed it and everything was working perfect until I started playing games. About a half hour or hour into Gta 3, my computer locks up and the screen gets all wierded out. And I have to do a cold shut down. These are my stats:

P4 1.6
asus P4B motherboard
256 mb ram
Windows 98 SE
300 watt powersupply
forgetting anything?

Well anyway, I think the problem might be overheating because I kinda have my computer in a big open ended shelf thing but the sides are about an inch a away from the case.
Do you guys think it could be anything else or if it is overheating can I fix it by putting some heatsinks on the card?
Thanx, in advance, for any help.

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by motoman303 on 07/24/02 04:38 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

Myrmecophagavir

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2002
Well I'd have thought 300 W was enough but maybe it isn't. What temperatures are you getting in your case, do you have a monitoring program like Motherboard Monitor?

motoman303

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2002
No, I don't have that but I was checking the bios after startup. I was getting like 151 degrees in there. That can't be healthy, can it. Is there any way to check the temperature of the video card itself?
Could there be any other reason why, when the computer froze, the whole screen was a jumble of wierd colors?
Could it be the wattage not supplying enough energy to the fan of the cpu. It was reading like 2200 rpms; is that low?
Sorry about the millions of questions but I got so many of em' in my head.

-Dad, you just killed zombie Flanders.

-He was a zombie?

jpscfl

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2002