problems with radeon 9700 pro

Hello Guys,
I got myself the new Radeon 9700 pro and set it up on my asus board. i connectet the electricity cables to my hard disk and the power supply thingy. but everytime i start a 3d application my pc crashes or reboots. i have win2k 2.4 ghz p4 and the newest asus board. i would be glad if you guys could help me please thank you :)
8 answers Last reply
More about problems radeon 9700
  1. What card did you have before? Did you reformat after installing the ATI card?

Intelligence is not merely the wealth of knowledge but the sum of perception, wisdom, and knowledge.
  2. well i got the radeon with my p4 and my new mainboard with some memory. i reinstalled win2k after that.
  3. So it might be your new board, mem, or CPU then...

Sorry, im not very good at p4 systems

My sig's faster than yours, and it overclocks better too....
  4. i dont think so cause i all upadetet them and both are brand new products
  5. can you try the 9700 in another system or try a diff gfx card in your current system ???

no-one shouts louder than someone who is being ignored, or in the case of techies, to be heard over the noise of their PC's ;-)
  6. HI
    what watt is your power supply?
    u need atleast 450 to run a p4 with a radeon 9700 pro

if there is not enough power going to the card/mem/or p4 your system will freeze or reboot. lack of power is kinda like hitting the restart button. if it was a driver issue you pc would not reboot.

regards
  7. Try setting your AGP slot to 4X instead of 8X in the BIOS, I heard of problems with some motherboards in 8X mode.
    Just an idea, heard of the same symptoms fixed this way.
  8. Recently put together a computer.
    -XP Pro
    -Pentium P4 2.53GHz
    -Gigabyte GA-81GX 845G chipset MB
    -1024MB Corsair PC2700 333 DDRAM cas2
    -ATI 9700 Pro 128MB AGP Video
    -SB Audigy Platinum (changed to Turtle Beach Santa Cruz because of Audigy Squeal of death problems)