Sign in with
Your question

Micrsoft Subscriptions

Last response: in Windows 7
July 31, 2010 6:08:38 PM

Hello,

I have in past conversations with people been told of a subscription that I can pay for to obtain legal copies and product keys of Microsoft operating systems and software. I am kind of new at this stuff and have encountered numerous people who have a HHD failure and need a new Hard disc installed and a new OS, (they never make the recovery copies do they?), It would be much quicker and easier if it were possible to download install and activate Windows from a subscription.

I want to do this legally! I do NOT want pirated software.

If anyone has information on how to do this I would appreciate it.

thank you.

More about : micrsoft subscriptions

a c 215 $ Windows 7
July 31, 2010 6:20:05 PM

I believe you are referring to Microsoft TechNet. I must point out however, that TechNet keys are for use only by the person who purchased the subscription. Should Microsoft find out about it, giving away your keys can result in your subscription being terminated at Microsoft's discretion, and selling the keys will get your account terminated, and Microsoft pursuing legal action against you.
a b $ Windows 7
July 31, 2010 6:22:06 PM

I think you're referring to MS TechNet subscriptions, for which it is only legal to use the software yourself. If you want a ton of licenses for different computers, you'll need a Volume License. Volume Licenses are really meant for computer builders, large companies, etc., but I guess you could try that if you're really set on it.
EDIT: The_Prophecy beat me to it! ;) 
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
July 31, 2010 6:25:15 PM

OK, I knew about the Technet subscription. I was under the impression that there was another to be used for the purpose I sited above. This does explain why I couldn't find any information on it though doesn't it.

Looks like its back to the old drawing board for me on this one.

Thanks guys