need advice for upgrading system

smeghead

Distinguished
Jun 14, 2001
Hello All;
I find myself in a bit of a quandary and was hoping for a bit of advice. I have what can only be considered a dinosaur of a computer: P3 600 MHz, Win98SE, TNT2 Ultra 32MB video card, Creative Audio PCI Ensoniq sound card, 20 GB hard drive, 384 MB RAM, ASUS CUV4X motherboard with VIA 694X AGPset. I find that with these specs I cannot take advantage of some of the latest games out there, and would like to upgrade my system (I am a student and therefore cannot afford to buy a new system, so price is everything for me).

I am rather happy with my OS, and my motherboard has not given me any trouble over the last couple of years, so what I was thinking was to upgrade the processor and my video card (I know that I won’t be able to take full advantage of all the bells and whistles of some of the latest games out there, but that will come later).

My question: Given that my motherboard is restricted to P3 processors and SDRAM, am I wasting my time upgrading? If not, what would be the best combination of processor and video card for under $500 (I am a Canadian so this is about $300 US)? I have been very happy with the NVIDIA card, and would like to stay with their product, but with so many options on the market I’m not sure what to get (note: the GeTi4000 series card is simply out of my league). I would also find it very helpful if folks could let me know which cards NOT to consider.

I must admit to being somewhat computer illiterate, having just figured out how to turn on my monitor, so I’m afraid that most technical jargon will go right over my head. However, I would be most appreciative to those who take the time to respond with advice based on their own experiences.

Best wishes,
smeghead

bighead111

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2001