Could it really have happened? Is it true?

vegandago

Distinguished
Nov 9, 2002
Disclaimer: In all honesty, by writing this editorial I in no way intend to start a flame-war. Rather, I intend to open the doors for an open and objective discussion on where the graphics card industry is heading.

Furthermore, by writing this, I am in no way claiming or implying that I am an expert on graphics cards, per se, but rather an end user, who, through the years (beginning with Diamond’s Monster 3d) has watched the industry grow and develop.

Now with that said, let me move on to my topic for discussion:

Has ATI done to Nvidia, what Nvidia did to 3Dfx?

WAIT!!! DO NOT HIT THE REPLY BUTTON YET!!!

Geez, atleast hear me out first.

Ok, where to begin??? Well, let us start with the timeframe here. As we all should know ATI released the Radeon 9700pro in August, which featured their much-hyped R300 chip. This chip has proven to be amazing in terms of what is available today. As anyone with a computer can see the 9700 easily performs 2 – 4x better than a Ti-4600 when the graphics options are cranked up.

So what about Nvidia, well as we all also should know Nvidia plans on counter-attacking with the advent of their ultra-hyped NV30 chip. Unfortunately for us gamers Nvidia has seen serious delays due to production and we won’t likely see the NV30 until February at the earliest.

So what kind of gap does that give us??? [aug, sept, oct, nov, dec, jan, feb…]
Ok, I got it, about 6-7 months!

So, what does this really mean? Well, it means that unless ATI has been too busy partying over the success of the 9700pro for the last 6 months they most likely have something up their sleeves for February.

Let’s objectively analyze the GeforceFX as it has been recently revealed, and I apologize ahead of time if this seems overly negative but that is the way I see it, as a long time (and current) user of Nvidia cards.