Sign in with
Your question

What backup software are you using?

Tags:
Last response: in Windows 7
August 2, 2010 11:00:45 PM

Hey all, just got my new build up and running, win 7 64 bit, lotta ram and drive capacity.

I'm an amateur photog, so have a lot of data to back up. About 500gb of programs and data altogether, so off line storage not really possible. I use three 1tb external hard drives, I rotate two here and one goes off site every week.

On my old XP3 Pro machine, I had Norton Ghost. A maddeningly quirky program, it did the job, and when I lost my c: drive, it restored it all with no problems.

Ghost doesn't install on this machine, so I was happy to see that Win7 had its own backup utility. Simple, but crazy slow, unless I am doing something wrong.

Ghost used to take about 8 hours, so if I started it when I went to bed, it was done in the morning.

I started my first Win7 backup last night around 9PM, 22 hours later it's 43% done. I'm hoping it will be finished in the morning.

Clearly I need better. What are you using? I don't mind paying for software either, sell me a $50 prgram that is done overnoght, vs. this free stuff that is taking days!

More about : backup software

a b $ Windows 7
August 3, 2010 2:39:45 AM

I've used and still use Acronis True Image, backup time is quick; it is making an image file.
a b $ Windows 7
August 3, 2010 7:14:11 AM

Do you just copy the files or make a complete system image?

If option 1, I recommend Allway Sync.
If option two, try CloneZilla.
Related resources
August 3, 2010 11:40:04 AM

+1 Acronis True Image... fantastic program, option to load it into the MBR too so you can boot up into it and restore a file/files from an image or the entire image.
a b $ Windows 7
August 13, 2010 9:03:34 AM

I use a 250G HDD for the OS and 500G for most of the APPs, and those that in C:/ I save to a folder that is not on that HDD, but Acronis sounds cool, maybe I'll try that too
October 8, 2010 4:26:30 AM