Win 7 freeze right after startup

spyder0314

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2010
Hello, about a month ago, i started to build my pc, everything is going well until about a month later when i bought gtx 460. I started playing few games, everythings good, until I played bad company 2 for about 20 minutes when it just froze on me. After that everything went downhill from there. Now even if i don't play a game it'll just freeze right after startup. Sometimes a few minutes, sometimes it might take to close to an hour. I did everything that I can to fix it. Reseat everything, reinstall operating system, memory placement, using the onboard videocard, etc. As far as i know everything is up to date, bios, drivers, etc. Also a good number of times I also experince some freezing when my phone received a text message, it seems like its also sensitive to rf. Not all the time but sometimes it does freeze right after. When I go to safe mode, I don't experience any freeze at all, so it could be a driver issue? my friend is telling me maybe its the cpu, mobo or memory? Help plz, Thank you.

Pc specs:
Asus m4a785td-evo
Amd phenom II 555
evga gtx 460 768mb
gskill ripjaws ddr3 pc12800 1600
cooler master 690 II
thermaltake black widow 850w/antec earthwatts 500w
seagate 250G
lite-on dvd burner

Run memtest on the system.

Run Prime95 in stress test mode for a while, see if it crashes. There are 3 selections you can pick in Prime95 for stress test, try each of them for a couple of hours, maybe even overnight.

If it's an issue with your RAM/CPU or coolling, that should find it. Random lock-ups are a bit tricky to find out without a lot of trouble-shooting. Could be CPU, could be RAM, could be power supply, could be you dropped some cheese in the vents, just need to test/swap out each component untill things are stable.

spyder0314

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2010