Sign in with
Your question

ATI Radeon 9700pro compatible with Windows 98?

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Windows 98
  • Compatibility
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 26, 2002 9:02:53 PM

Hey all,

My first post. I got a radeon9700pro for Christmas and am trying to install it. I have windows 98, and on the box it says its compatible with XP, ME and 2000. Am I out of luck?

Secondly the first step in the installation is to install the latest AGP driver. I am searching the AMD site (my chipset AMD Athlon T-bird 1.33 gz) and am having no luck. Obviously I'm new at this, so any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

More about : ati radeon 9700pro compatible windows

December 26, 2002 10:35:18 PM

try it out. win me is not that far away from 98. btw, how much ram mem you got anyway?if you got 128 meg or less, then you should definitely get more ram and upgrade to xp since xp is a lot more efficient at using more ram. having less than 128 meg ram and using 9700 pro in your system even if it does run is kinda pointless. having more than 128 meg of ram and using 98 is also pointless since 98 can't use all that ram efficiently (if at all) compare to xp. athlon 1.33 can still use 9700 to some effectiveness in gaming though it will be your cpu that will be the limiting factor a lot of time.

Anyway, my recommendation in short is that you should be running xp and have at least 512 meg ram given your spec. ram is not expensive nowaday so anything less than 512 is not doing justice. and if you do have 512, you should use xp since 98 can't handle all that ram anyway.
December 27, 2002 1:11:18 AM

Yeah, I got 512DDR on this system. I got the system up and running and just tried out Morrowind. It runs much more smoothly than with my old card. XP is next on my shopping list. Thanks for the reply!
<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by Milamber on 12/26/02 10:12 PM.</EM></FONT></P>
December 27, 2002 4:18:46 AM