Sign in with
Your question

Took apart old pc, what went wrong?

Last response: in Motherboards
January 24, 2002 5:08:56 PM

Hi all,

As the name might suggest, I'm a total noob with hardware. After reading a ton of guides, I decided to test myself and take apart my old HP from 2 pcs ago (it's just a doorstop now anyway, P2 266 so I didn't care if I broke it). Well I disassembled it completely down to the bare case, and then I put it back together, but as you might have guessed, I screwed up somewhere because it no longer works. I'm not mad I broke it, just disappointed I failed the test.

So I'm wondering what I did wrong? I made sure I was in a static free environment (lenoleum floor in my hallway), and grounded myself on the leg of metal chair before beginning, and often afterwards just to be safe. I was very careful and I labeled all wires with tape before taking them off, so I am 99% sure I hooked everything up right. So I guess I fried something somehow. Upon reviewing my tools, I realized my screw driver has a magnitized head (oops), a detail that escaped my notice until now. Could this have done it? If not, any ideas where I might have messed up (common mistakes etc)?

Thanks for any help!!

----
A newbie is only a newbie for as long as you allow him to be.
-Anonymous Veteran

More about : wrong

January 25, 2002 2:10:38 AM

I'm no expert but if the screwdriver touched the wrong thing it could have hurt something. Something else to remember is that a metal chair is not a ground. You need something that is connected to the ground outside, like a cold water pipe, something that touches good old mother earth.

What I do is get a piece of copper wire, say 14 gauge and run it out the window to a metal hose faucet. Then I touch it occasionally. You can wrap it around a cold water pipe in the house too.
a b V Motherboard
January 25, 2002 2:45:34 AM