Sign in with
Your question

I need your expert opinions

Tags:
  • Motherboards
Last response: in Motherboards
January 25, 2002 8:51:36 PM

Hi all,

I intend to have a system build for me and need help choosing its components.
It will be based on an AMD Athlon (probably 1700+).
What would be the best quality/price motherboard, cd-rw, 40Gb hardrive and midi case (I already have a 17" iiyama monitor, a keyboard, trackball, and internal floopy drive and modem).
It will run Windows 2000 professional and will be used with softwares like Adobe Photoshop, Corel Draw, Macromedia Dreamweaver, Flash 5, as well as Apache/PHP/MySQL to test sites; I normally use games consoles to play but wouldn't mind being able to play on the pc too.

My budget is about £500 ($700 usd).
Thanks in advance for your suggestions. :) 

ddlooping

All that is not given is lost!

More about : expert opinions

January 25, 2002 9:56:26 PM

I'm no expert but i'll post anyway..
IMO best quality for price is ecs k7s5a from ebuyer <A HREF="http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?acti..." target="_new">here</A> you can get some cheap vid cards from there too like the super grace gf2ti. they have got some cheap cdrw.
get <A HREF="http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/PartSpecs.asp?imodule=C..." target="_new">this</A> memory from crucial.
Choose a case but make sure your psu is amd approved and at least 300W.

-- There are no answers to find in the bottom of a glass. But you can have fun looking for them.
January 25, 2002 11:40:50 PM

Thanks for the info, monkeyspank. ;) 

From ebuyer I have so far selected:
.AMD Athlon XP 1700+
.ECS K7S5A
.DDR PC2100 256Mb
.NVidia Geforce2 MX200 64Mb (tv out)
.Yamaha 2200E-VK 20x10x40 CD-RW
.Hardrive 40Gb 7200rpm (not decided on the brand)
.Nokia style 300w case

And the total comes to slightly less than £500 inc vat. :) 

What do the experts think of this system?
I welcome any suggestions as to alternative hardware or where to buy online.