Anybody know anything about the asus a7v266?

G

Hello, Im fairly new to the hardware aspect of computing. Up to now Ive been a networking, software geek. Anyhow, I just purchased an Asus a7v266 mobo and an athlon XP 1700. I have gotten it installed okay, but I have a few questions. 1st - what is the story with all the dip switches and jumper settings? I just installed it the way that the board came out of the box. I don't know enough about these things to know if I may be harming my mobo or processor because of power/heat issues as a result.
2nd - in the asus probe software, it shows that my processor and mobo are constantly rising in temp. Is that normal?
3rd (and heres my REAL issue) - again in the asus probe software in the "monitoring" tab, it shows that the power fan monitor is paused. when I unpause it, my computer starts to click and I get a message saying that the power fan is below threshhold. Is this something I should be concerned about? Can it be fixed? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated, as Im a financially challenged student and can't afford to replace this hardware should I screw it up. Again, TIA.

G

Im not a moron. I read the freakin manual cover to cover. I even downloaded the updated manual from the asus website. FUNNY...all it has info about the motherboard. No settings specifics (as to the meaning and funtion of the dip switches and jumpers...it says if you want this on, put the switch this way. No explanation as to why or why not to use the feature. Additionally it gives no info on the meanings of the pc probe entries, what the normal operating temps of the mobo or processor should be, or oddly enough NO ANSWERS TO ANY OF THE QUESTIONS THAT I ASKED IN THIS FORUM. So THANKS LOADS FOR YOUR SAGELIKE HELP, DICK.

So anyhow, if anyone has anything USEFUL, PLEASE give me a hand...personal experience, good resources, ANYTHING!

MikeD340

Distinguished
Jan 2, 2002