phono_mas

Distinguished
Apr 1, 2002
I've been getting this error message for almost a month now every time I start windows. [Error Installing iKernel.exe] I get this message once windows has booted and I've got my desktop up. Once I click ok, everything runs fine. Can anyone tell me what iKernel is?!? Anyone know what I can do to get rid of this annoying message?? Thanks in advance!

CapNjacK

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2004
ikernal.exe is part of 'installshield' a third party install/deployment tool. You may have attempted to install something that never completed successfully or something has placed itself to install on start up and is failing. Check the run and run once reg keys and all of your start up folders.
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run , RunOnce

phono_mas

Distinguished
Apr 1, 2002
Hey CapNjacK, I'm kind of new to editing my registry. What exactly am I looking for in the Run/Run Once keys? Do I just delete anything that looks fishy??

CapNjacK

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2004