G

Hey I am new to the high end hardware scene, I want to build a dual amd 1900+ MP system. Trying to decide on a main board. I have had exp with Tyan's SMP boards and love them, but they are a bit pricey and I don't need SCSI. I was thinking about the Asus boards, are they as good? What about ABIT or MSI. Are the Tyan boards worth all the $$$ Thanks for the help.

Also, is there a board of this description that will support the up and comming T-bred?

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by BuRnCyCLE on 02/18/02 02:30 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

G

The Tyan Tiger is a really good board. I've built 2 systems with them and with Athlon XP chips, they showed up as MP chips and everything was fine. Been runnin one for a couple of months now. No problems at all. Just rmember things like ECC registered ram. I'm not sure if the asus or MSI boards need that.

Whatever u choose post it and how well it runs.

jc14all

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2001
Yes the Asus M/B requires registered DDR also. You can view a M/B bundle <A HREF="http://www.jncs.com" target="_new">here</A> (www.jncs.com) and depending on how much DDR SDR you want will determine the price. Since the dualies are new stuff, not many retailers are will to drop the price yet.

JC-------<*){{{>{~~~~~
Fisher of men

G